Refabing… my version of refurbing.

I love finding random things at Goodwill and making them into something useful again.  Refurbing and re-fabulizing.  I also have a love of finding a good buy on Craigslist.  I recently merged the two to try to make something fun and useful for my husband’s “man space” aka the basement. 

This is a trunk I  found on Craigslist:

red trunk

Red Trunk

I had to find a base that would keep the trunk at a good height to act as a coffee table.  After a couple of stops to my local Goodwill stores, I came across this little beauty. 

I’m guessing this is some sort of luggage rack.  How appropriate!  Knowing that I needed to attach the two items I went to my local hardware store and picked up some simple plumbing brackets and a small 8 pack of  screws/nuts.

Connecting the two items just took a simple drill and a cold beer.  The beer isn’t a necessity, but afterall, this item is going in a mancave.   A few sips of my bevie and a bit of drilling and my husband’s coffee table was finished. 

Now my honey has a place to set his beer and when he is done gaming, the controllers and what not can go inside the trunk.  The wheels make it so he can move it around the room since he also has a gym down in the basement or to make room for his buddies.  Not bad for a few bucks, eh?

One comment on “Refabing… my version of refurbing.

  1. Chris says:

    Nice work! I think the hipster definition of this is upcycling 🙂

Leave a comment