Tarahriums…

I know… I “technically” spelled it wrong…

Terrariums are everywhere in household design.  You can check out how-to tutorials on Pinterest or on Google somewhere I’m sure. Here are some cute ideas spotted on google images:

Gotta love the side bottle look:

Image from terrarium botany factory

Neat idea! Someone reused an old lightbulb:

I love succulents and so I decided when spotting these containers at my local Goodwill store to throw some together and create my own “Tarahriums”.

The big guy vase was $3.99.

Big Bertha

This little guy was $1.99

Little guy

I went to Lowes and picked up small succulents. After using my Lowes card (automatic 5% off everything you purchase) they were $2.49 each.

Louise ventured into the garage to help me with my mini gardening project.

Big Bertha has Kalanchoe, Crassula, and Mimmicry.  I had the rocks from the apartment days so there was no cost there.

overhead shot

Side view

I used a mini-pot I bought from a Herran Art School art sale from my friend Liz Hamstra (You can see her stuff at her website: http://www.hambonemusic.com/wfp/bio.html). I then filled it with a thimble cactus.

I had some left over plants and decided to use containers I had just purchased because they were cute, but really didn’t have a plan for.  You may remember the hippovase.  Now filled with a baby aloe blue elf plant.

After scouring the house for a small container that wasn’t in use, I found this little black ceramic owl I found in the dollar section at my local Target store.  For $2.50 I knew it would come in use some day.  Indeed, it is now home to a donkey tale plant which looks like curly hair sprouting from the top of the owl’s head.

2 comments on “Tarahriums…

  1. […] more… 215 more words This entry was posted on 7 August 2012, in Planter or Pot, Potted Plants, Succulent, Terrarium […]

Leave a comment